UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME ERROR ***STOP : 0x000000ED

92006114191739.jpg

Blue screen errors are now days become very common. we dont have to do a os reinstall for all the blue screen errors. just follow these steps and it will resolve this 0xED blue screen issue.

Step 1 : Boot the computer with Windows Installation Disc

Step 2 : Press ‘ R ‘ in the initial screen and go to recovery console.

Step 3 : Enter 1 for Administrator in most cases

Step 4 : Type ‘ chkdsk /p ‘ and hit enter.

Step 5 : once that is completed type ‘ fixboot ‘ and hit enter.

Step 6 : now type exit

Step 7 : Reboot the computer

Note : if you still have the issue then follow the same steps but instead of ‘ chkdsk / p ‘ use ‘ chkdsk /r ‘ and do the rest. but this command will take 10 mins to 1 hour some times.

~ by ramanathan on May 20, 2007.

30 Responses to “UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME ERROR ***STOP : 0x000000ED”

  1. but what if you don’t have a reboot disk made

  2. wooow, i tried the above method and it really really worked for me. you’ve really save me time from re-installing windows again thus my files are in good mode. Thanks very very much

  3. I have this problem and I do not have the instilation disk. My computer was bought at Dell with the software already installed. What can I do to fix this problem??? I really need some help.

  4. I just solved the same problem with the above procedure. Thank You very much. It was really a great help!!!

  5. worked for me too, Windows Server 2003!! thanks a ton!

  6. yeah you are right. It works perfectly.
    But you can also start your PC from a bootdisk
    Press enter, instead of R to use the recovery console.
    press F8 to accept the agreement,
    Press R to repair the operating System
    As it runs, you will be informed that there was a repair of the OS
    Remove the OS CD whiles your PC is rebooting.

  7. Thx for help.. could’t use the first way with /p, but the second /r was good, it took about an hour for it to get finish. but thx a lot..:D

  8. Didn’t work, it said it had one or more unrecoverable problems 😥

  9. Check this, even if you do not have the installation CD.

    http://blog.albinjey.com/2009/04/unmountable_boot_volulme/

    Regards
    Albin

    • I cannot find my installition disk and I’ve tried every thing to fix the “unmountable_Boot_Volume” message. The last time I had to take it to a repair shop and I don’t want to do that again. Can you help me with a SIMPLE recovery method???

  10. Saved me > $250 from having someone look at it, which was the other option.

  11. Hey Just wanted to say thank you for this little tip. It just helped me get my mother through a boot volume error. Helped her over the phone via this handy information. Again, thanks!

  12. we are happy to hear that it was help full to you…!! 🙂

    All the Best…!! 🙂

  13. what if i do not have Windows Installation Disc software waa already installed on my computer.

  14. Thanks! It works

  15. im currently trying it now ! please please please work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. thankyou it worked!

  17. Omg ..u are the professional ….It Worked~!..Finally It Solved..Thank^^

  18. Your are awosome buddy awosome thanks it saved my important files thanks

  19. chkdsk is not progressing after 35% even after 12 hours

  20. yes this is help for us

  21. Dear Ramanthan..
    the chkdsk /p didn’t work
    the chkdsk /r worked till 50% then it said : The volume appears to contain one or more unrecoverable problems.

    although i still typed the “fixboot” after!! and the new boot sector was successfully written..but eventually nothing worked !!!
    HELP PLEASE
    is there anything u can help me with?? please reply..

  22. i typed : chkdsk..it worked, and after wards i typed : fixboot ..worked too.
    then typed : exit
    and it all worked..
    THANKS A LOT DUDE..
    THAT WAS A GREAT FAVOR..
    AGAIN THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

  23. Hello Sir!

    Just saw ur website! Thanks a lot for nice info. I have informed my IT team as well about the issue. but just wondering if this process is not going to work, then it means that my HDD is gone…am I correct?? Please reply ASAP.

    I am very much worried about my important DATA @ HDD.

    • I would recommend you to run hdd diagnostics to decide the hdd has gone bad or not… coz we can’t decide only with this…
      Thanks for reading the blog… 🙂

      • Hello Sir!

        You are genius! Truly just awesome…My IT team tried to access the HDD using Mini Windows XP, Then I personally tried using Puppy Linux…but all went in vain….then the last and d awesome one…your process…I did Chkdsk /p and then Fixboot and I got itttttttt……..I have retrieved all my DATA.

        A BIG BIG THANKS TO YOU SIR…THANKS A LOT.

        Regards
        Zaan

  24. Thanks a lot. You save my live and job.

  25. Hello very cool website!! Guy .. Excellent .
    . Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I am glad to find a lot of useful information right here within the post, we need develop extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

 
